candy canes

Standard

Over the past couple days we’ve been learning about the meaning of the candy cane.  We’ve read The Legend of the Candy Cane a few times (the children keep requesting it) and I’ve done a little flannel story I made talking about the meaning behind the candy cane – a very basic telling of the story.  Then we marble painted red paint on white paper and then sprinkled red glitter on it and I’m cutting candy canes out of those.

After we’d gone over the meaning of the candy cane, I gave each child one to take home so they could tell the story to their families – which some have done based on what the parents have told me!  It’s always a joy to see the children so excited about learning something that they go home and share it with the ones they love!  It’s awesome!  🙂

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

Leave a comment