deck the halls

Standard

I like my room to look festive for the holidays – and this year – for the first time – we have a Christmas Tree!  I finally bought one and I took it in and we all helped decorate it the Monday after Thanksgiving!  The children were super excited!  I’d never had a tree before because I didn’t have space for one near one of our two outlets (and we are not allowed to use extension cords).  However, I rearranged my room over the summer and I finally had a small table where I could place a 3 foot tree!  🙂  I really love how the tree makes the room feel more homey and brings in a little extra color and sparkle!

I have also hung silver, glass bulbs from the ceiling. To do this I tied a length of string string to a tack and tacked in into the ceiling.  The other end of the string is tied to a paper clip and I used an ornament hook to hang the bulb from the paper clip!  They look lovely hanging around the room – they reflect the light and act kinda like tiny mirrors – some of the children have noticed if they stand under one that’s hung lower they can see their reflection!  I love the looks on thier faces when they discover this fact!  🙂  We also have the children’s art hanging all around the room (stockings, Christmas trees, candy canes, etc).

The only problem I have at the moment is we don’t have a gift for our parents!  I totally let that get away from me this year and now we will only have a week to make, wrap, and send home 20 gifts and I have no idea what we are going to do!  So, as you can well imagine, I’m a bit stressed right now!  Any ideas would be helpful and much appreciated!  Thanks!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. We did a santa handprint:
    at http://www.dltk-holidays.com/Xmas/mhand-santa.htm

    We then took a picture of each child in a Santa Hat. We glued the picture on the top of an 81/2 X 11 piece of heavy construction paper (or oak tag) with the hand print on the bottom (or you can do it the other way around) I will have to take a photo and put it on my blog post. The kids then made a “frame” around it, some did popsicle sticks, others colored macaroni, etc… I glue gunned a piece of ribbon to hang it from… I think they will love them. I know one parent has already asked for her child to not use macaroni because she wants to frame it.
    Good luck!! It doesn’t have to be anything huge… parents love just about ANYTHING their child makes 🙂

Leave a Reply

