Daily Archives: March 8, 2009

Playdough!

Standard

This probably shouldn’t excite me so much because  teachers have been doing this forever!  But today was my first time making playdough from scratch at home and I loved it!  The colors, the consistancey, the ease – who knew?!  Well – probably every other preschool teacher but me.  But now I see the light!  YAY!  It feels so diferent from store bought playdough – much more plyable and smooth.  Just great.

I made a batch of lemon yellow and then I made a batch of royal blue.  I’m going to give each child a little of each color to play with so they can see how it makes green.  Since St. Patrick’s Day is comming up, I thought this would be a good activity to use to show color mixing.  Not to mention build fine motor skills and give them a chance to be creative!  I love playdough – it’s just great!  I really hope tomorrow the children are as excited as I am when I show them the playdough I made this weekend!  I can’t wait!  🙂