Playdough!

Standard

This probably shouldn’t excite me so much because  teachers have been doing this forever!  But today was my first time making playdough from scratch at home and I loved it!  The colors, the consistancey, the ease – who knew?!  Well – probably every other preschool teacher but me.  But now I see the light!  YAY!  It feels so diferent from store bought playdough – much more plyable and smooth.  Just great.

I made a batch of lemon yellow and then I made a batch of royal blue.  I’m going to give each child a little of each color to play with so they can see how it makes green.  Since St. Patrick’s Day is comming up, I thought this would be a good activity to use to show color mixing.  Not to mention build fine motor skills and give them a chance to be creative!  I love playdough – it’s just great!  I really hope tomorrow the children are as excited as I am when I show them the playdough I made this weekend!  I can’t wait!  🙂

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. I know there are several different recipes for homemade playdough, which one did you use? Also did you use food coloring or something else to get those vivid colors?

    • I used a cooked recipe:

      2 cups Flour
      1/2 cup Salt
      2 tsp Cream of Tarter
      2 cups Water
      2 Tbsp Oil

      I blended all in a pan. Once blended I put the pan on the stove over medium heat and stirred constantly until it formed a ball. Then poured it out onto a cutting board and when it it had cooled for a couple mins I kneaded it until color and texture were consistent. About half way through the cooking I added some vanilla extract (I probably poured in about 1 or 2 Tbsp) to make it smell nice.

      I used food coloring but not the liquid drops. I use the gel food coloring that comes in the little jars. In my Wal-Mart it’s sold in the craft/fabric area over by the wedding supplies. Gives it a nice vibrant color!

Leave a Reply

