Daily Archives: March 27, 2009

letting go

Standard

Having taught for 7 years now, I’ve learned to let go and let the children do what they need to do.  Experiment with how they do things – even if they do something I hadn’t wanted or intended them to do.  As long as they treat items respectfully and follow the rules in our room – I’ve learned to let them learn, play, and explore how they need to – so they can get the most out of an activity.  This was a hard lesson for me to learn (and in some ways I’m still learning it).  I think it’s hard for a lot of teachers.  That’s understandable.  It’s the most important lesson (or one of the most important lessons) that a teacher can learn.  I’m glad for the most part I’ve learned it – it makes teaching easier – and learning more enjoyable for the children.

Ms. Bennet has not learned this lesson yet.  She is a first year teacher…she is learning.  I’ve mentioned it to her a few times – but you can’t force someone to learn something they are not ready to learn.  But I can see that very slowly she is starting to learn it – she is starting to understand.  I don’t think it will fully happen for a long while still – but she is starting.  And I’m glad.

Children are stubborn – and good at ignoring you.  If they want to do something a certain way – they will – regaurdless of what you say.  Within reason, of course.  And I’ve found that if the teacher is very clear about her rules for the class and the general boundaries of the activity (no paint on the carpet for example) the children will be respectful and won’t push too hard.  And in the end everyone will be happy.  I like a happy class – it just makes for more sucessful learners – and I like my children to be successful…