Daily Archives: October 24, 2010

E-I-E-I-O

Standard

We learned about farmers and farms by taking a field trip to a local farm/pumpkin patch!  This was my first ever field trip with this age group so I, of course, was completely stressed out and worried for the entire week leading up to the trip!  But in the end, it was a huge success and everyone had a great time!  We got to see a farm show where we learned about different farm animals and farm equipment.  The children loved having the opportunity to pet all the different kinds of farm animals and see them up close!

After the farm show they gave us popcorn and juice and then we got to explore the pumpkin patch!  They had a couple old tractors out the children could climb on and explore, hay bales piled up to make pyramids (they enjoyed climbing to the top), and a corn “maze” (not really a maze – but that’s what they called it) for the children to walk through, and a “cave” for them to explore!  They loved every second of it!  We all brought our lunch so after exploring the pumpkin patch we sat down for a picnic – then all the children got to pick a pumpkin before we headed back to school!  I only wish they had had a hay ride for us – I always loved those as a kid!  Since this trip went so well I’m already thinking about where we could go in the spring!

the police came

Standard

So, the last you heard from me I was having trouble controlling some of the children in my class.  Things have gotten somewhat better – but there are still about 4 (sometimes 5) children I’m working with – out of 14  I guess that’s not too bad!  October is the month I choose to learn about Community Helpers. One of my father’s is a paramedic and he came in his uniform and with his stethoscope to talk to the children about his job.  They were super excited to be able to listen to their lungs and heartbeats!  He also read two stories to them and gave them all a “super special band-aide from the ambulance”!  They LOVED that part!

Then the police came!  One of my fathers is a policeman and he wanted to come talk to the children about safety.  He also wore his uniform and brought his police car along!  The children LOVED that!  He even let them get in the front and backseat of the car!  I totally wish I had taken my camera to school that day – those would have been super cute pictures!  He also gave them a badge sticker to wear – and I have never seen my children so excited to get a sticker before!