4 weeks in…

Standard

Well I just ended my 4th week of the new school year and I’ve survived 1 case of the stomach flu and 1 bad summer cold (as well as 15 children)!  And I’m exhausted!  I forgot how it felt to get a new class into the routine and all the frustrations that come along with that job!  I’ve been very frustrated lately with how my class has been behaving and I was sure I’d never had a class like this before until I read my post from last August!  I won’t write the same things now – that pretty much sums up what I’m going through!

I thought I could avoid that situation this year by being very intentional when I introduced new toys/activities – I take everything to the carpet at circle time and show/discuss how everything is to be (or not to be) used.  But they still aren’t getting it and I’ve had toys/containers/baskets/books broken!  Beyond modeling and discussing how to treat  items respectfully, how do I get them to understand how to handle things with care?! Should I get the parents involved and write a note?  Any feedback would be appreciated! 

In other news, Parents Night (or Back to School Night or Open House – whatever you call it) was a great success!  Aside from the fact that I did it all by myself this year (which made me extremely nervous) I had all but 2 families show up!  They all seemed very pleased with what I had to say and got all their questions answered!  I haven’t had one complaint yet – and I hope I won’t have any in the future!  My families seem to want to be involved and know what’s going on in the classroom – and for that I’m thankful.  The two families that didn’t show up are two that should have been there to hear what I had to say.  Each of these families has a boy who is having behavioral issues and I’m constantly writing notes home (because I believe these parents are avoiding talking to me).  But hopefully I can get them on track!

Okay, I feel like I’m rambling now…I’ll try to get online more consistently to give updates and let you know what I’m doing in class.  I just feel like I’ve been really scattered and disorganized lately – even though I do plan in advance what I’m going to be doing!  Just seems like I’m always running out of time!  AAAHHHHH!   Sometimes I feel like I’m going crazy!  LOL  But I think it’s just the “beginning-of-school-getting-back-into-the-routine” thing!  🙂  Hope all of you are enjoying your new class (or will be soon)!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. It sounds to me like you are on the right track with modeling and discussing your expectations of how to use the items in your classroom. One thing I like to do is have the children model how to use an item instead of me modeling how to use the items. So when I see a child mishandling the item later, I can say – show me again how we are supposed to use that item so it will last a long time – and then I wait for the child to show me. I do this over and over again until the children develop better habits and can demonstrate they understand my expectations. I am not so sure that sending notes home will improve the way children handle things in your classroom. My belief is what happens in the classroom for the most part has to be addressed and managed effectively by the teacher in the classroom. It doesn’t mean that you never communicate with parents about behavior issues, but as you do so, you also share how you are working to handle the situations.

  2. Sounds to me like, if they cannot play with the toys correctly, the toys should be removed. Or as I like to put it, the toy is getting a “Time Out”. Rather than put children in time outs, put the toy. Tell them that when they are too rough and break toys/books, that they will not be allowed to play with said toy/books. You can set for how long, but there needs to be a natural/logical consequence for mishandling toys, especially once they’ve seen it modeled and had it explained!

Leave a Reply

