planets

Standard

this is not the actual art project...this is a real planet

One of the art projects we did for space was to make our own planets.  I die-cut circles our of white paper towels and then I let the children paint them using liquid watercolors and eye droppers.  They turned  out awesome!  🙂  So bright and colorful!  Once they were dry we glued them black construction paper and put rings around them using glitter.  I love looking at them hanging on the wall!  We’ve gotten many compliments on them!

To go along with our space theme we taught the children a song to help them learn the plant names.  Here’s how it goes:

I Know the Planets to the tune of “Skip to My Lou”.

I know the planets, how about you? I know the planets, how about you? I know the planets, how about you? Lets say the names together!

Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars; Jupiter and Saturn among the stars; Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto too; All spin around in space its true!

Everything goes around the sun. Spinning, Spinning everyone! The Earth is ours, it’s number three. Its atmosphere is right for me!

________

The children have really fallen in love with this song and request it all the time!  The parents have even said how surprised they are to hear that their children know the names off all the planets!  And, yes, I know that Pluto is no longer considered a planet – but I still teach it.  I just tell the kids it’s more of a minor planet because it is so small but it is still a part of our solar system.  It’s exiting to see how my children have fallen in love with our space unit!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

7 responses »

  1. Love, Love the art work! Dr. Jean has a cute planet song.
    I also had an issue with my pre-k and counting. I started using our calendar time for more than the days of the week and month. Each day I choose a student to put the new number for the day on our calendar, then that child leads in counting starting at the first day of the month. It has helped so much, plus we change the color of the numbers so we make a different pattern each month. It’s amazing to watch the children catch on to numbers, patterns etc using the calendar. -Tonya

  2. Hi, i was just wondering what exactly were the steps you and your students took for the planet project?

    ” I die-cut circles our of white paper towels and then I let the children paint them using liquid watercolors and eye droppers”

    Did you dye the paper towels before cutting them into little circles?
    Also did you layer the little circles? or is the image just one of the ones you or your student did?

    Thanks so much!

    • I simply cut 7″ circles out of white paper towels – the kind people have in the kitchen, laid them on a piece of construction paper (this was to soak up the excess liquid watercolor and make the project easy to transfer to the drying rack), and gave the children liquid watercolors to drop into the paper towel with eye droppers. i did nothing to the paper towels before the children painted them. The picture you see above isn’t actually of the art project itself (I forgot my camera that day) but they turn out looking pretty closed to this – no white spots on the end project – but all the colors blended and over-lapping like the picture. when it’s dry i glue it onto black construction paper using a glue stick. hope this helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

