star dot pictures

Standard

As I said in my last post, we learned about stars last week.  One concept we learned about was constellations.  We did two different activities to understand constellations.  Our first activity was creating our own number constellations.  Here’s the materials you’ll need for this activity:  black construction paper, white crayon, toothpicks, and number flashcards (optional).  First I cut a piece of black construction paper in half.  Then I laid out some number flashcards (1-10) face down and had the child whose turn it was picked one.  After showing me the card and telling me what number they had (I helped if they didn’t know) I wrote that number on the black paper with the crayon.  Then I gave the child their paper and a toothpick and told them to go to the carpet and poke holes along the white line.  After they finished they held it up to the light and it appeared as if stars were shining down making constellation numbers!

The children loved this activity!  Many children made 4 or 5 constellations!  I was so excited to see how much they enjoyed doing this!  I have never done an activity like this in my class before and I was surprised how patient they were while punching the holes and how many of them wanted to do it again and again!  If we hadn’t run out of paper, I’m sure they would have kept going!  I also loved that some of the children picked up on numbers they didn’t know before (numbers is something we are having a hard time learning this year).

They second activity we did was dot to dot papers.  One made the big dipper and the other made a star.  I didn’t know how well they would do with these papers – we’ve never done dot to dots before – but most of the children picked up on it quite easily! Each child in my class wanted to do each dot to dot page and the majority were able to complete it successfully!  I demonstrated how to do them during who group time.  Then, since one was numbers 1 – 10 and the other was letter A – G, I wrote 1 – 10 on a piece of paper and A – G on another paper, and left it on the table where they would be completing their dot to dots!  They were all very excited when they were finished and saw what they had drawn!  I love seeing them excited about their work!  🙂

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

