blast off!

Standard

I’ve decided to start a Space unit on Monday.  I’ve been on vacation lately, but Ms. Bennet has been working and she told me that last week the few kids we had were showing an interest in wanting to learn more about space after a child brought a space book to share with the class.  I am more than willing to accomodate their interests – and so starting Monday we blast off into a space unit!  🙂

Only problem is, I have never done a space unit with preschoolers before.  I’ve already come up with a few ideas – and searched the web for awhile to try to find more – but I am willing to hear what any of you have done with this theme!  Suggestions are welcome!  I want this to be a fun learning experience – I’ll take suggestions for all learning areas (literacy, science, math, movement, art, etc) – I’m excited to do something new in my class – and I’m hoping the children will be excited too!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. How about the children do this…

    See the stars:
    Create a telescope with a paper towel tube – put little star stickers on a piece of wax paper and attach it to the end. Look through them out a window.

    Introduce Constellations:
    Place gold star stickers on a sheet of light blue construction paper. Use a crayon to draw lines between the stars (connect the stars) to create constellations and then give them a constellation name (like the big dipper).

    Moon boots
    Cover snow boots up in bubble wrap and then go for a moon walk and hunt for moon rocks!

    Moon rocks
    Paint some rocks and call them moon rocks

    Moon paintings
    Cut large circles out of the “large size bubble wrap” . Paint the wrap various shades of blue then press a sheet of paper on top to create moon prints.

    Hope you like one of these ideas (not much of space person myself:)

Leave a Reply

