school funding

Standard

I recently read this blog post about how many grants a school should get – and it got me thinking.  My school receives zero (yes, you read that right) grants a year.  I know this is due to the fact that Ms. Lezze-Faire is to, how do I put this nicely – well, she’s too lazy to look for them and apply.  I mean, what else could it be?  In the article it goes on to mention classroom grants that teachers can apply for – something I’d never heard about before!  You can imagine how excited it was to hear of these!  However, upon further research, I am having a hard time finding any grants in which my class or school really qualifies.  A lot of the ones I found were for low income school or schools with special needs.

So, I know I must be looking in the wrong place.  I think a classroom grant sounds wonderful (Lord knows my classroom is lacking in many areas) a grant for the school sounds good too – if I could convince Ms. Lezze-Faire to go through the process to apply.  My question (or dilemma – depending on how you look at it), is where to find these grants.  If any of you out there have done this before or know of anyplace where I could get some more info – it would be greatly appreciated!  🙂  Hoping you all are having a great week!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Have you tried Donors Choose.org? I know lots of teachers who have received grants there. You can do a search there and find all the current grants that have been written by preschool teachers to get an idea of about how much and what types of things to write your grant for. Good luck!

    • This is a GREAT site – I have passed it on to a couple of my friends who are teachers in public schools – I can’t post anything on it due to the fact that work at a private school – and from what I understand they only serve public school district run preschool programs. But thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. try your local cultural council. massachusetts has annual grants for things you can justify as “cultural” and arts based such as field trips, school visits, materials, etc. many museums also offer a lot to teachers and schools, if you’re interested. sometimes stores (such as super centers and drug stores) are willing to donate stuff since they have separate funding for such things. good luck!

Leave a Reply

