rainy days

Standard

We had our first rainy day together as a class this past week.  It actually went really well – I was pleasantly surprised!  Instead of going outside we had extra time for centers – something the children really seemed to enjoy!  However, with fall in full swing, and winter just around the corner, I started wondering:  “What do other pre-k teachers do in their classes on rainy days?”  So, I put that question out to all of you teachers – what changes in your room when the children can’t go outside due to weather?  I’m always on the look out for different activities or games that we can play on rainy days – and have a feeling that this is going to be a wet year!  🙂

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. We have a Rainy Day Box, and pull an activity out of there. We also use it during the winter when it is just way too cold or blizzardy to go out. In this box, we have anything that involves movement. Our favorites are the animal action books, The Lion Hunt story (similar to The Bear Hunt), and the Hullabaloo game. We also have extra free play times as well.

  2. A favorite in my classroom on rainy days is “Doggy, Doggy, Where’s your Bone?” The kids sit in a circle while one studet is the “dog” in the middle with a “bone” (this can be a block or I eventually bought a rawhide bone from the store). The dog lays down and pretends to sleep (no peeking!) while another student takes the bone and hides it behind their back. All students then place hands behind backs and chant “Doggy, doggy, where’s your bone? Somebody stole (or took) it from your home.” Then they all say, “Wake up Doggy!” and the dog opens his eyes and gets three guesses as to who has the bone. Whoever has the bone gets to be the new dog. My students could play this all day long! The biggest challenge is keeping the kids from blurting out who has the bone. They’re terrible at keeping a secret!

Leave a Reply

