fairies?

Standard

This mornings bible lesson was about angles.  We learned how angels protect us and they are messengers from God.  We talked about how in the Bible God would use angles to tell people special messages – like when God wanted to tell Mary about baby Jesus coming.  We talked about this for awhile – the children asking questions and us answering.  Then, as a review, Ms. Bennet asked the class:  “What do angels do?”  Most of the children shouted “Protect us!” – which of course was correct.  No one remembered the other answer that could have been given so Ms. Bennet asked:  “Who delivers messages from God?”  No one said anything immediately, and then one little girl yelled, “Fairies!”

I’ll admit it – I lost it here.  I just started laughing out loud – couldn’t control myself.  It had been a rough morning and this was the comic relief I guess I needed!  But I broke my No-Laughing-At-Kids-Answers Rule. I like to respect their answers even if they don’t make sense – but it just came out!  I stopped as soon as I realized everyone in the room was staring at me – but I could tell Ms. Bennet was trying to hide the fact that she wanted to laugh to!  I love that they can give the most random, cute answers!  Just another moment in the life of a preschool teacher!  🙂

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. When I googled your site, I was looking for what to tell children when they get angels and fairies confused. What do you tell your preschool children about fairies? My six year old granddaughter knows that “angels help Jesus” but is very much into the magic of fairies. Do you see room for both? And what would you tell a child fairies “do”?

    • I’ve never actually had a child in my class ask about fairies and what they do. I see no reason why a child can’t believe in both. When I was young I was told that fairies help take care of nature and keep things in balance. I was also told they are very shy and don’t come out when people are near. Angels, of course, work directly for God. So, big difference there. In the end, you know your granddaughter best and what answers she would most likely accept. If she asks you what fairies do, ask her the question to see if she might already have some ideas and go from there. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

