cut, cut, cut

Standard

class 3 aug-feb 506We did a formal cutting exercise today.  I cut 4″ by 1″ strips of construction paper in all different colors.  I drew black lines on each strip with a sharpie.  Some strips had 2 lines, some had 3 lines, and others had 4 lines.  I laid them on a tray in the middle of table.  In front of each chair I put a pie pan and a pair of scissors.  Then I invited the children over to cut up the strips.  Some cut on the lines – others didn’t.  That was fine by me.  I helped them hold the scissors correctly and praised their efforts – I was happy to see how hard they were trying!  I didn’t realize what a big hit this activity would be with my class!  I actually ran out of paper before everyone had had a turn!  I’ll have to prep more and do this again!

After we cut all the paper up – I turned this into a sorting activity.  I had some strawberry baskets with cut up paper in them left over from last year.  I had the children sort today’s paper pieces by color into these baskets.  They also really enjoyed doing this.  I told them that we will be doing art with these little pieces of paper – and they loved the idea of helping me get ready for an art project by actually cutting and sorting the paper for me!  They were happy and engaged – just what I like to see!  🙂

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Wonderful cutting activity. We have the children cut strips of paper, put it in an envelope with a sticker that says “Look what I cut today!” to help prompt conversation at home. (We hope.)

Leave a Reply

