bliss

Standard

Okay, I’m back.  Back from where, you might ask?  Good question…I’ll get the that in a moment!

To be honest, I’ve been blatantly ignoring my blog.  Yes, on purpose.  For no good reason.

What have I been up to, you ask?  Not much.  I’ve been teaching (duh – you knew that!) – other then that – not much.

After work I’ve been spending a lot of time reading (nothing too interesting) and sitting out on the porch in my rocking chair.  Peaceful evenings.  No TV.  No phones.  No computer (for the most part).  Just watching the sunset, listening to the birds, and enjoying the peaceful harmony God has given.  Sometimes when I sit outside I take my computer with me and listen to re-runs of my favorite radio program:  A Prairie Home Companion.  Sometimes slowing down and sitting on the porch listening to the “radio” (yeah, I know it’s really my computer) reminds me of simpler times.  Okay, so I don’t actually remember those simpler times but I’ve read about them, seen them in movies, and heard about them from my grandmother (may she rest in peace).  And it’s nice.  Relaxing.

And it reminds me that there won’t be too many more evenings to sit outside before our days are significantly shorter and the weather too cool to bear.  With the dawning of September I realize how close we are to the end of summer and lately I’ve just been wanting to slow things down and take it in before it slips through our fingers for another year.  So that’s where I’ve been.  Enjoying every sweet moment….

(This picture, as much as I wish it were, is not, in fact, my actual porch)

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

