parents night

Standard

Tonight was our annual Parents Night (A.K.A:  Back to School Night).  A night when parents are invited to come and meet their child’s teachers and see the classroom (without the children present).  8 out of my 19 parents showed up.  Better then last year when I only had 3 out of 22.

Here’s how I prep for my parents night:

First I make a handout to give all my parents which outlines our curriculum, our teaching philosophy, our discipline policy, and our daily schedule.  Next, I lay out various activities on each table which demonstrate some of the items we use to teach the children.  There is a literacy table, a science table, a math table, and a creative arts table.  We try to fill each table with enough activities so that the parents are really able to see what their child does each day to help them learn.

The actual night is spent with us briefly going over the handout, taking questions, and letting the parents explore the room and activities while talking with us and with other parents.  All the parents who showed up seemed to be excited about this school year and happy with how we run our class.  Overall, a pleasant evening.  It does make me sad that more parents didn’t decide to show up – but I will give them the handout tomorrow and answer any questions they might have.

I must say that Ms. Bennet really helped carry me through the night!  I absolutely hate getting up and talking in front of people – something I know I need to get over – but since she loves it she did a lot of the talking!  She’s just great!  I couldn’t have done it without her!  🙂

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. It sounds like you had a great event! I understand the speaking part. I ALWAYS get nervous speaking in front of a group, no matter what size. I like the idea of putting activities out for the parents to see. I’m going to add that to my list of things for our open house and I’ll give you one back! I got this from another teacher (forgot which) I make a list of our learning centers and ask our parents to pick the one they like the best, then draw a picture of it on the back of the paper. The next day in class the children use the pictures to graph which center our parents like the most and the least. The children love it because their parents are apart.

Leave a Reply

