my new bunch

Standard

So today was the first day with my new children – and I had a TON of kids out today!  We only ended up with a total of 10!  I was very surprised!  But despite this fact – we made the best of it.  We go over the rules and routine as we go through our day.  I only get easy activities out like legos, blocks, coloring – I introduce others as we go along and the children learn how to treat items respectfully.

I felt weird all day though.  I tried to stay in the moment and talk with my new kids and try to get to know them – but it was hard.  My mind kept wandering off – I found myself thinking about my old kids and how their first day was going.  I kept looking for the ones I knew stayed at my school but are now in different classes.  I miss them.

I don’t know my new class – and they don’t know me.  They can’t discuss books or play more difficult games or carry on more in depth conversations.  They don’t know our routine, our rules, or our little inside jokes.  But most of all – I don’t love them.  Yet.  It all takes time.  But now, we’re all just trying to figure out how we all fit together – and it’s a bit awkward.  However, I look forward to a time when this is all behind us – and I can say I love them.

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. i completely understand where you are coming from…i am so oo nervous about our new year coming up…we start aug 17…and i am truly nervous…i don’t know these kids famalies or history…or fav and dislikes…it is nerve racking!!

  2. Thank you for ‘saying it out loud’. I also feel this way each new school year! I feel bad, but with your post I feel ‘normal’. The beginning of the school year and summer camp are hard because the children in my class change. It’s difficult when you don’t know each other and seems very crazy when you go from a class that knows exactly what you expect to a class that doesn’t. I have to mentally prepare myself for those new beginnings. (Our new school year starts end of Aug. , so, I’m preparing myself now) Hang in there, it only takes time..-Tonya

Leave a Reply

