water fun

Standard

Today we had a school wide water day!  To be honest – I was kinda dreading this all week because we’ve never done this before – but it turned out really well and everyone had tons of fun!  We had it this morning – the 2 hours proceeding lunch and nap.  There were 4 sprinklers, a water table, squirt bottles, these water balls which absorb water and splash people when you throw them at someone, and buckets of water with brushes to paint the brick wall of our building!   Lots of activity!  Tons of fun!

For snack each child got a piece of cold watermelon and a cookie.  Then there was a special treat!  Snow cones!  The children loved them!  They got to pick either grape or cherry for their flavor – and the teachers even got one!  Very yummy!  It was the perfect morning for water play too.  Cool enough so the teachers didn’t get hot but warm enough for the children to get wet – and a slight breeze – the perfect weather!

Before I took my class in I let them lay on their towels on the grass in the sun to get dry.  They looked so peaceful and really enjoyed just laying their chatting with their friends and enjoying the day.  I wish this part could have lasted longer – I enjoyed sitting with them and laughing and talking.  It was an incredibly enjoyable morning – one I won’t soon forget!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

