a mascot?

Standard

So, Ms. Bennet and I are considering having a class mascot (for lack of a better term) next year.  We thought it should be some sort of animal (after all, most kids love animals) – don’t know which animal yet – and we could use this mascot in the name of our newsletter, incorporate it into the room decor (such as cubbie names), and even get a stuffed animal of that animal – and of course name it with the class.  We thought this would be a cute idea to implement and distinguish our class.

Of course, we haven’t picked an animal – but we know we want something unique – something not every other classroom already has.  And we’re currently trying to find other ways to incorporate our mascot into the daily class routine and environment.  I’m debating letting a child take it home on the weekend – knowing some of the parents I’m getting next year – I don’t think it would come back!  It’s just something we’re looking into and pondering.  Have any of you done something similar to this?  How did you make it work?  Any suggestions or comments are welcome…I always appreciate the differing point of views and advice.  🙂

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

6 responses »

  1. oh! i never thought of it as our mascot, but i used the same stuffed animal (it seems a little lame, but i used a stuffed clifford dog) to pose for our daily routine photos. so i took a photo of clifford at circle time, clifford eating snack, clifford on the swing outside, clifford washing hands, etc.

    the kids seem to think it’s funny.

    : )

  2. I have used a stuffed bumblebee with an inside pouch to hold a journal for the past 5 years! My classes have thoroughly enjoyed taking it home, and elsewhere. I put instructions in the journal to either take photos or draw pics of what you did with busy bumblebee. When they return to school they share their adventures with the class. This is always so much fun. Only problem is poor busy bumblebee is getting old. I have siblings of students who look forward to this when they get to my class. Have fun finding a new friend for your class.I really enjoy your blog. Thanks.

  3. Our classroom themes each year are based on a literary character, such as Elmer the Elephant, Hedgie (Jan Brett), Rainbow Fish, Clifford, well, you get the picture. 🙂 We have a bag that contains the “friend”, the story that correlates, a folder with instructions and a sheet that says “My Adventures with Elmer (or other character.) This goes home with each child on a Monday and needs to be returned by Friday. I explain this is homework, and all items belong to the school. I talk to the adult in charge about the activity as it goes home with the child. In the 7 years I’ve been teaching we’ve only had one animal, one folder and one book lost (not all at the same time, thank goodness!). The children learn that this is something that belongs to the school, and take great pride in following the instructions. I must admit that I choose the families that would be most likely to return the bag on time at first, then the children can see how it works. We read the child’s adventure story, we take their picture with the friend and pass it on to the next child. At the end of the year all the stories are put into one “book” that each child receives (God bless our secretary for typing them all up.) We paste their individual picture pasted to the front of the book. The children LOVE it!

    I forgot to add that we have two bags, one for the morning class and one for the afternoon. Each class gets their own seperate “book” at the end of the year.

    It’s a valuable activity. I keep a chart with the children’s names, so I know who has had the book, to make sure we have their adventure stories and pictures.

    Give it a try! 🙂

  4. My good friend, mentor and ex-colleague did this (what Glo and mrsvierkant described) with preschool group (in a day care centre in Australia) … it was so popular by the end of the first year, she had to do two more animals in the second year! There were art books for each animal, and a calico bag to help tote them around. There were no issues regarding the animals not coming back … some not on time, but they always returned. The kids LOVED them big time and they loved looking at the books ~ it was such a great opportunity to share their home life with the school via a safe “third party” …

    In regards to what Kristin said ~ I had a stuffed orangutan who was named “Monkey Monkey Monkey” (don’t ask!) … I took a whole series of photos with him doing things while the kids were asleep and they thought it was hillarious! It was a great way to bring some humour into our days! I put a book together as well, and the kids read it.

    This whole activity is a really fantastic way to promote literacy … if you give it a strong “educational” slant then the families might take it very seriously AND you and your colleagues can start it off ~ Have a few entries to start it and then let it go!

    I want to do the same thing with my lot, and I am thinking of doing a doll ~ like a persona doll (I make cloth dolls) and that way she is made for a purpose and we can give her a history which might help the children relate to her. Just a thought!

    I’m loving your blog … and the other ECE blogs too!

  5. I use a little llama as our mascot, inspired by Anna Dewdney’s Llama Llama series. In the beginning of the year, I hide the llama around the classroom and the kids follow a map to find her. This helps introduce each center as I open it or explain how to use new new activities or materials that have been added. When there’s a little “llama drama”, a transition activity involving the plush mascot usually helps calm things down. After the first six weeks or so we send the llama home for adventures, similar to mrsvierkant. It takes a little prep work, but I’ve found it really helps create deep structure in the classroom and promotes a sense of community in a fun way.

Leave a Reply

