new approach

Standard

Okay, so I need to send “paperwork” home so the parents “can see what their child is learning each day.”  A quote from the meeting.   Because God forbid a parent interact with their child through games, songs, books, outings, etcetera to find out what they know…God forbid they actually be “parents”.  (sigh)  Don’t get me started.

Back to the topic at hand – paperwork (as some would say, worksheets).  As you know – I pretty much hate them and don’t feel like they belong in a developmentally appropriate preschool learning environment.  But I must do what I have to so that I may keep my job.  But I will do it on my own terms and in my own way – it’s time to get creative!

I’m not against all paperwork.  I just want that to be made clear.  I believe in “appropriate worksheets”.  For example, a data recording sheet for a science experiment – perhaps recording what was magnetic and what wasn’t.  You get the idea.  I’m against repetitive tracing or drawing a line from one rhyming picture to another – etcetera.

The problem is I need more appropriate worksheets – for all areas of learning – and I don’t know where to find them.  Or, perhaps I can make them on my own if I had a good idea.  I would appreciate any ideas or perhaps teacher websites or free printable sights any of you might know of that has the kind of stuff I’m looking for to help me out.  Something that can get the children more involved but still be “paperwork” to send home.  Thanks!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

7 responses »

  1. i’d be glad to email you what i offer families….in case it is helpful.

    and most of the time i don’t even fill them out….i just show them what THEY can look for….what they can notice….

    : )

    • that would be awesome! i’d love to see it – thanks! my e-mail is on the “Contact” page on the left hand side of my blog! feel free to send it to me!

  2. That is an interesting request. It makes me very thankful that our school has admin that understands that worksheets do not belong in PreK. The homework I send is a monthly calendar with different activities parents can do with their child. It requires interaction and involvement. The resource book is called Kindergarten Homework.

    Our school is looking to develop something very similar that will be used by every teacher and the activities will coincide with our units. I am very excited about that idea.

    • yes – you are lucky! my admin refuses to even look at the research and articles i have given them about worksheets and young children! your homework calender sounds perfect! i wish i had that option where i work…your school seems great!

  3. What about the book “Just Right Homework Activities for Pre-K”? You can find it on my homework page: http://www.pre-kpages.com/homework.html I bet that book would have some appropriate stuff you could send home. You can probably get a free preview of the first 20 or so pages on Google Books to see if it’s what you’re looking for. I have the book, it’s actually pretty good, everything is done for you and there are directions for the parents you can just print out. The activities are simple, but educational, and relevant.
    hth
    vanna/tx

  4. When I taught in a public school, I was also surprised by the parental request for homework! My compromise was similar to what Mari said. I made a “Homework Sheet” for each week. On it, I listed several activities specific to the objectives for that week. For example, you could describe a simple activity like using a muffin tin to sort objects (buttons, change, plastic animals, etc.), or creating a game similar to Twister using index cards and colors, numbers, letters, what-have-you, and then instructing them to play along like Twister. Going on a shape walk or a letter search (give just a limited number of letters, of course) are also things easily done at home. Go through your own classroom activities in a given week and select a few that could be easily understood and implemented by the parents at home (fingerplays, games, recipes, etc.). Of course I always included simply reading together for 20 minutes a day, giving points for each day. I required a certain number of points for the week for the “assignment”, but allowed the parents and children to set their own point goal if they felt they needed more of a challenge. I think some parents just don’t know what else to do besides worksheets. This type of homework activity sheet not only lets them “see what their children are learning each day”, but also teaches them how to naturally create fun learning moments with their children.
    http://www.notjustcute.com

  5. Your place of employment should be supplying the worksheets, if they want you to send them home. I like the idea of homework activities schedule. 🙂 And you could send an activity suggestion home every night. To see if parents are actually participating you could request something such as “Please send an item that starts with the letter Pp to school on Tuesday.” Also you could send home items that the children (and parents) can decorate at home, bring back to school and use as a bulletin board. Ex: “Please decorate with this turkey feather (paper is cut in the shape of a feather) with your child and send it back to school on Wednesday.” Then make a giant turkey using all the returned feathers. Have children take turns taking home a special book (preferably one that is class made) and the assignment is to read the book with their family. Send home a class journal and have the child and parents add a story, or picture to the journal. Keep it simple, that’s the best advice I can give.

Leave a Reply

