file folders

Standard

I have no idea what took me so long to learn about this idea!  Apparently I have been living in a cave somewhere – but now I have been shown the light!  Recently I have learned about the different ways file folder games can be used in the classroom!  This is something I would really like to bring into my classroom over the summer and into next school year.  They don’t take up much room but can be used for so many different curriculum areas.

There’s only one small hitch – the teacher who was presenting this workshop said the only way you can really get a wide range of different file folder games and activities is to buy CD Roms from various websites and she said they can cost upwards of $50!  I don’t really have the money to spend at this point in time.  So, my question for you teachers out there is:  Do you know of any websites where I can get file folder game and activity printables for free?  If not, do you know the best website to perhaps purchase a CD Rom from that services the preschool/kindergarten grade level?  Or perhaps you have ideas for homemade games?  Any info would be greatly appreciated!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Hi: I think you’ve been living in a good cave, I don’t think you’ve been missing out on anything 🙂 There are many places on-line to get free file folder games. My first experience with f.f games was when a student teacher did a project in my room and she created about 50 for my class. I have lots of thoughts about using file folder games in the early childhood classroom, if you would like to hear them please e-mail me at my website: vlevin at pre-kpages dot com

  2. I think I created mine from a book I bought at an education store. It may be lower cost that way. I used to be able to find them on google. Here’s one website that has a lot of printables: http://www.first-school.ws/preschool/printable-activities/index.htm You could also make your own using every day type items: playing cards, stickers, clip art images, magazine/newspaper clippings, cereal boxes or other environmental print (things kids would see every day.) Make sure you laminate or cover your games with contact paper, so they last longer! Good luck!

  3. Okay, I’ll try this again. I apologize if this comment is a repeat.

    I think I made most of my file folder games/activities from a book I purchased at an education store. That may be a cheap option. I also used to be able to google and find plenty of sites for “free preschool file folder games.” Here is a website that I have found helpful in the past: http://www.first-school.ws/preschool/printable-activities/index.htm

    You can also make homemade ones using playing cards, stickers, clip art, photos, clippings from magazines and newspapers, cereal boxes, or other environmental print (print kids see every day).

    Remember to laminate or cover your games with contact paper. They’ll last longer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

