beautiful dinosaurs

Standard

The first week of dinosaurs has been somewhat watered down due to Mother’s Day, but we have still been talking about it and the children are still interested – which is good!  When I was at the Dollar Tree this past weekend (I love that store) I happened to find some die cuts of dinosaurs – 10 for $1!  I thought, “Great deal!” and took home 20 – one for each child in my class.  There were 5 different dinosaurs in various colors for them to choose from at art time this week.  I put out some small colored beads, tissue paper squares, colored pasta in various shapes, and glue on the table for the children to use to decorate their chosen dino.  They turned out  sooo cute!  I can’t wait to get them up on the wall tomorrow!

I also sent home (last Wednesday) and got back Monday a dinosaur themed family project.  I sent home a large Stegosaurus shape with a note paper clipped to it that instructed the family to decorate it any way the choose.  They all look very original – and I can see each child’s personality in their Stegosaurus!  There were a variety of items used:  Cheerios, grass, glitter, buttons, herbs, Legos, fabric, paint, ect.  When the children brought them back to class they got to share with everyone who helped them and what they used to make them – they were all very proud of what their family accomplished working together!   They are now hanging up on a bulletin board and are the first thing you see when you walk in the door!  Everyone loves them!

So far, a great first week of dinosaurs!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

