a-hunting we will go

Standard

Today we spent a wonderful day outside.  After reading and talking about bugs for a month I decided to take the children outside in search of the real thing!  They loved every second.  Scince we don’t actually have any nature on the premisis we had to use our buildings flower beds.  For those of you who don’t know, I work at a preschool located in and operated by a church and they maintain very nice flower beds.  The children were super excited and loved searching for insects – they were also very respectful of all the plantings.  We saw spiders, snails, ants, flies, a ladybug, a roly ploy, a moth, and more.

Everything was going along smoothly until Ms. Lezze-Faire’s boss came out and told us that the children were not allowed inside the flower beds!  No excuses!  Bummer.  I don’t see what the big deal was…but we complied.  Searching for insects wasn’t quite as fun after that but we made do with what we had.  After we finished looking for insects we stayed outside and played Red Light,  Green Light.  This was a new game for them but they caught on quckly and loved it!  They were even playing it on the playground this afternoon.  A fun filled day for all!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Yeah, I don’t really understand what the problem was if you and the children were respectful and careful of the flower-beds which I’m sure you all were. Too bad a teaching moment was snuffed out by management. 😦 It sounds like fun day in spite of that though. 🙂 . We’re studying butterflies right now and the children are so engaged. Just goes to show interest + real life examples =motivation and engagement. Oh, and thanks for reminding me of red light, green light! I’ll have to try that with my own kiddos on monday!

    • i don’t understand what the big deal was either – people where i work can be so uptight sometimes! and you’re welcome – my kids really enjoyed the game once they got the hang of it! have fun! 🙂

  2. I never understand and never will when something like this happens. It was a wonderful idea! Kudos to you for the time you did get exploring. It reminded me of ‘The magic school bus’. My kids love that series.

Leave a Reply

