finally 4!

Standard

Sweetie finally turned 4!  She’s the youngest in my class…and she was sooo excited that she finally turned 4 and she was a “big girl like all her friends”!  She was even more excited to share mini chocolate cupcakes and juice with all her friends at snack this morning!  You would have thought she’d won the lottery!

And she got to wear our class birthday vest and birthday hat and she stood in front of the class as we sang happy birthday to her!  Our birthday vest has balloons on it and our birthday hat is shaped like a cake with candles on top (I got two hats at the Dollar Tree last summer – great find).  Everyone knew it was her birthday and this made her even more excited!

She also got to pick a sticker and pencil from our birthday box.  Our birthday box is a shoebox I wrapped in birthday wrapping paper and I keep our hats, vests, pencils, stickers, and birthday cards (from the teachers) in it – very handy!  I try to make them feel special on thier birthday – after all,  it is the day they were born and it only happens once a year!  I think Sweetie was very happy with her day and I got the feeling she felt very special!

For those of you that might want to purchase a birthday vest or two this is the website I got them from.  I also got two star of the week vests for my leader of the day.  Not incredibly cheap – but well made and totally worth it in my opinion!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Congrats 2 Princess! I had to laugh when I read about the website that sells the birthday vests. My mom started making vests for my classroom (leader, birthday, etc) about 15 years ago. When I first put up the birthday page on my website (http://www.pre-kpages.com/birthday.html ) I got tons of requests from teachers wanting to buy the vests so she made about 20 of them and they sold out instantly on ebay. She never made any more but I’m glad somebody out there is filling the gap 🙂 I am trying to get my mom to open an etsy (www.etsy.com) store and sell the vests and a few other cool teacher items- we’ll see.

    vanessa

    • an etsy shop? that would be cool…let us know what happens there! I love all the vests i have and would recommend them to all teachers!

  2. We have a birthday box as well. We put all the free books we get from Scholastic when we send in orders then let the kids pick one on their birthday.

    Glad to hear that Sweetie enjoyed her day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

