losing control

Standard

I felt like I was loosing control of the kids today.  Or maybe they are just getting tired of me.  Or maybe we are all just tired and a little burned out.  I don’t know.  It’s a long year with no breaks – so who knows?  Journals have been a battle this week.  We help them sound out the words so they can write what their picture is…but over the past couple days they seem to have forgotten all their letter sounds!  All I get is blank stares and “I don’t knows.”  It is sooo frustrating and annoying.  I. am. done.  That’s what goes through my head during journals.  And then I feel like a horrible teacher.  I shouldn’t be thinking that.

Then at circle time no one is paying attention.  They find anything else to pay attention to.  I mean anything.  Some look at the ceiling.  Others were looking at their hands and fingers like they had never seen them before.  A couple girls were shaking their heads and giggling when their hair hit them in the face.  Others were pulling strings out of their clothes.  And that’s just the beginning.  Once again I thought: I. am. done.

(deep breath)

This makes me frustrated.  The whole day went by like this.  I feel like I’m loosing control – like I’m loosing them.  Like I’m a failure because suddenly what has been working up til now is failing me and I can’t keep them engaged.  I wish we got a break – I think we could all use one!  Hopefully tomorrow goes better.

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

6 responses »

  1. April is always the hardest month. It gets like this every spring. You are not a failure! (Even though it feels like that sometimes)

    I was not in class on Thursday and Friday and my co-teacher had a couple days just like this.

    Here’s to a better day. 🙂

  2. That sounds exactly like the week we had last week. Your story about the girls made me think of some little boys who kept smacking their own bottoms during circle time one day. (rolls eyes) Spring is hard and with out any kind of Spring Break? Yikes. It’ll get better. Take a deep breath. Keep up the faith and the hard work, you’re doing a great job even though it doesn’t always feel like it. 🙂

  3. In all my years of teaching, every April you see it. They are done. They are so comfortable with their surroundings and the people they are with, and everything that goes on, they find so many other things to occupy themselves. I always say in Apirl you can tell they are ready to move on. Keep your chin up and keep up the good work you are doing with them.

  4. Pingback: Bucket Contest «

  5. I agree w/ everyone else. It’s the time of year. I had a week like that in April and thought it was me the whole time. I was thinking about next year springing something different during April (I have no idea yet) to keep it from happening again. Any ideas would be great!!

Leave a Reply

