bookworms

Standard

I was watching my book area today.  I took note of 4 different children “reading” a book outloud and after reading each page they would turn it around and show their audience the pictures.  They turned the page and repeated the process.  Over and over.  Book after book.  It was cute.

They must have been reading to some imaginary person because not one child was listening to the readers.  Of course, even if someone had been listening I don’t know that they would have been able to hear or understand the reader they had chosen due to the fact that all four were reading out loud at the same time.

But that doesn’t matter.  They were having fun.  They were taking pleasure in the simple act of reading and that’s all that matters in the end.

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

