hectic week ends

Standard

It’s finally Friday!  Whew!  I thought it would never come!  Haha!  It just felt like a really long week.  On Monday and Tuesday we had vision screening so kids were constantly getting pulled from class to have their eyes tested.  The constant interruptions were very annoying – but we managed.  The children were excited to get tested because after their turn they all got a sticker!  I wish it were that easy to please everyone.

Wednesday we had two injuries – both bled a lot!   One of our girls somehow found a staple and managed to get it stuck in her thumb – then she yanked it out!  Ouch!  We had to change her shirt because the sleeve (the part by the wrist) was covered in blood!  But once Ms. Bennet got the cut clean (it was a very small cut too – not much bigger then your average paper cut) all was fine.  Then in the afternoon we were outside playing with balls when a boy fell and hit his head on the fence!  Mom got there right after it happened – but that one bled a ton and he ended up with 5 stitches!  Poor thing!

Thursday a little girls mother in my class called in and said she wouldn’t be there because she had lice.  Yikes!  Not what we need right now.  So we spent the day cleaning and trying to check the other children.  No more cases have been found this far – thank God!  I still have to finish washing our playhouse items (which I had to bring home in a tied garbage bag) and then everything is done.  Lets hope no more cases pop up this weekend.

Today I had visiters from another class because thier teacher took the day off.  They were good – no big deal.  Obviously I had to keep reminding them of my rules and how we do things in my class – which took time – but it was really no big deal.  They all seemed to have a good time!

Throughout all of this stuff going on I was trying to get progress reports done – and I failed!  So I’m disappointed in myself – and I will have to work harder to get them all finished by the end of next week.  Let’s hope all the children show up and no surprises happen so I can get through them.  I don’t think I’m even half way at this point!  But, right now, I’m just going to sit back and enjoy the start of my weekend!  🙂

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Wow, it sounds like if anyone needs a good relaxing weekend, its you!!! Sorry it was such an eventful week! Hope your weekend is a peaceful one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

