We’re Making a Jungle!

Standard

Today was a surprisingly good day.  I’m optimistic about the rest of the week.  I say this because Ms. Bennet is gone all this week on vacation – so I was a little weary about how this week would go – but so far so good.

Today at circle time I mentioned that March had St. Patrick’s Day (when I introduce a new month – I like to go over special days within that month) – and none of my children knew what that was!  I was pretty surprised…they had lots of questions!  So, I plan on going over some more St. Patrick’s Day info tomorrow – I had wanted to go by the library today – but I didn’t make it there.  Hopefully someone at work has a book I can borrow that tells about St Patrick’s Day in a very simple way.

I had planned on introducing this months theme today – but as you can tell we got off topic.  I had planned on doing a Safari theme – but then we got this cool idea of turning our playhouse area into a Jungle!  It’s almost done and the children are excited!  So I guess our new theme is Wild Animals (or Jungle/Safari).  Whatever – it’s will be fun!  Who doesn’t like animals?!  So I’m pushing back introducing our theme until Wednesday – hopefully I can get the jungle done by then – but it’s looking cool thus far!

I get a lot of fun out of changing our playhouse area into different scenes.  It’s been a beach area, a farm, a restaurant, an office, a camping site, and now a jungle.  Oh, and a house of course!  It’s fun and it keeps the interest level high.  Lets the children be able to really take on different roles and experiment with different props.  Would love to do a castle one day and maybe an igloo for when we do weather or even something space related like a rocket ship for when we do our space unit.  We’ll see what happens…time will tell – but right now we’ll have fun in our jungle!

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

2 responses »

    • That igloo is sooo cool! I just don’t think I could get enough milk jugs to complete it…but I will have to show Ms. Bennet and we’ll see what we can do for next year! Thank you for telling me about this idea!

Leave a Reply

