George

Standard

I got a new boy in my class today – I’ll call him George.  He asks a lot of questions – which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  And he can be quite stubborn – like most 4 year olds.  We were in the middle of talking about the rainstorm that was going through our town today when he suddenly yelled, “I have to go potty!” at the top of his lungs.  Then entire class stopped and silently stared at him. Then the following conversation happened:

Ms. Bennet:  “George, when someone is talking we raise our hand and ask to go potty.  We try to remember to say, ‘Please may I go to the bathroom?'”

George:  “Why?”

Ms. Bennet:  “Because we need to try to be polite and use our manners.”

George:  “Why?”

Ms. Bennet:  “Because it’s respectful to others when we do.”

George:  “Why?”

This was pretty much typical of him all day.  He seems sweet.  Doesn’t know how to use his inside voice.  Always interrupts you when you are talking. Overall, I think he will catch on quickly.  I’m going to give him the rest of the week to adjust to his new surroundings.  Then I’ll do some quick assessments to see what he knows and where I have to go with him.  I think he’ll do just fine.

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. I stumbled upon your blog and thought I would say hello. I am also a pre school teacher working with 4 and 5 year olds. I am brand new to this and have never worked with children this young. I really enjoy reading your blog and can relate to a lot about what your writing.

Leave a Reply

