Change Needed

Standard

Sometimes working for a private school is frustrating!  A teacher called in today – not sick mind you – just tired because she was up until 2 am with a family emergency.  Teachers call in all the time where I work for no good reason.  This one, I am on the fence about.  However,  at most schools this wouldn’t be a problem – but where I work there are no substitutes.  So today Ms. Bennet was told to go into that class and I worked alone!  This frustrated both of us because we had an activity planned today that required both of us being in the room.  Of course we couldn’t follow the posted lesson plan and do the activity because Ms. Bennet wasn’t with me!

I couldn’t comprehend why our director, Ms. Lezze-Faire, couldn’t sub for the day and go in the other classroom.  I guess she was just too busy – playing computer games from what I saw the two times I walked by her office.  I suppose with the school loosing money and enrollment going down this is exactly what she should be doing!  What a great example we have to follow!  You all should be so blessed.

So, while Ms. Bennet was  busy in another room and Ms. Lezze-Faire busy with her computer games, I was forced to divert from my lessons and have a fun free play Tuesday while I caught up with all the odds and ends that had been left undone.  In the end my art is hung up and the room is decorated and looks good for Friday’s valentine party.  The children are getting excited and so am I.  Hopefully all the teachers can manage to show up.

*Picture found through Google Image*

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. I work for a private school also. We have the same issues w/ calling in and co-workers being used for other classrooms. I am alone many times because I’m seen as a strong teacher. A great compliment but not so great when I’m alone w/ my kids most of the time. Projects that could take a day with 2 teachers, now take 2-3 days. I make my lesson plans for one teacher now no matter who will be in the room. I wont comment on the director’s actions we have 1 director and 4 assistants in the front office. It amazes me how there are so many up front and we still have so many issues. I know in my heart if more focus would be put into quality instead of quantity (money) our school would soar. I have a ‘pretty’ school but we could be so much more. So , I understand your frustration. Those are the days I keep to my room and focus on the children even more. It helps pull me out of those moods.

Leave a Reply

