Heartbroken

Standard

I’ve been trying to get over a cold for the past few days – and I think I’m beginning to win!  YAY!  I hate not feeling good because I’m just so worn out that I don’t want to do anything.  But I think by Monday I’ll be up to par.  Thank God!  In the meantime my class decided to have a rebellion and stop listening!  The past few days were sooo frustrating and I felt like everyday was a battle!  I think the weather change might have had something to do with the change in their behavior…so hopefully they’re back to their old selves on Monday.

Yesterday was a no school day for our school district.  Too bad I don’t work for the school district!  School was in for me. We could feel that it was a no school day because numbers in every class were down.  But to me, the sad thing was, about 1/3 of the children that were there  could’ve been home!  Their parents were off for the day – but they brought them to school anyway!  That was sooo irritating to me!

There were many excuses as to why they brought their children.  “I need to clean my house and I can’t get that done with the kids there.”  Or, “I need to go back to bed – I’m so tired and I can’t sleep with her at home.”  Or, “I’ve decided to have a ‘me’ day and go see a movie and get my nails done.”  Or, “If I didn’t bring him to school he would be thrown off his schedule and get confused!”  This was just the tip of the iceberg!  It annoyed me!

In my opinion, if I had young children and had a day off from work – I would keep them home.  I would actually want to be with my children!  I don’t understand these parents!  They chose to have children – but most of the time I get the feeling that they see them as a burden!  Some of the children in my class see me and are with me longer each day then they are with their own parents!

And I feel sad for them.  For both the children and the parents.  They are both missing out on some great things!  I wish I could shake my parents and tell them to cherish their children and love them with all they have because these years will slip away before they know it!  And sometimes I just want to hold and hug my kids and apologize to them for having parents that just seem not to care!

Why don’t parents understand?  Why do they seem to ignore and blow off thier young children?  Why can’t they see that the journey through early childhood is a once in a lifetime event that should be cherished?  My heart breaks for them.

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

