It’s Monday!

Standard

All day i kept thinking “I can tell it’s a Monday!”  I had to drag myself out of bed this morning – and i barely made it!  I was sooo sleepy!  But on the up side, I made it to work early enough to get some prep work done before I had to be at my post!  YAY!  That usually doesn’t happen.

However, as soon as class started – I could tell it was Monday!  The children just weren’t with it today!  I kept wondering if I was speaking English – at one point I turned to Ms. Bennet and asked if I was talking out loud!  She laughed and said she could hear me.  Maybe the children thought we were speaking some secret teacher language!  lol

Anyway, we always start our day with Journals – and never have any issues.  But today I had one girl come in and just go sit on her spot on the carpet without doing her journal.  My co-teacher and I were busy and didn’t notice until there was 15 mins left for journals.  We asked her to get up and go do her journal.  She got up and walked to the table but just stood there and stared as if she didn’t know what to do!  I had to walk her through the process step by step – which I found utterly annoying because she is one of my brighter students and knows exactly what to do.  Inside my head I was screaming in frustration – but we calmly got through!

Then, mid morning – Kitten decided to take all the pieces out of a puzzle and walk away without even attempting to put it back together!  So I called her back to the table and told her she had to at least try to put it together.  That is when her face glazed over and she gave me a blank stare – she was determined not to try.  I must admit I lost all patience at this point and had to call Ms. Bennet over to give me a chance to count to ten before helping her.  But, alas, she would not even make an attempt to put that darn puzzle together!  Just that blank glazed over look – like should couldn’t understand why I was trying to get her to do this and was determined not to do it! Once again – I wanted to scream.  But I let her take a break and had Ms. Bennet help her with it later.

It was a frustrating morning – and all I can say is:  it’s Monday.  But then, because we have a program that includes naps, a teacher had to go home and I got to do a nap room!  YAY!  This doesn’t happen often and I relish the times it does!  This means that I get off work two hours earlier then normal!  YAY!  So, I did the nap room and got off at 3:30 pm which gave me plenty of time to run all my errands and get home for dinner at a decent time!  YAY again!  So although the day started off with some frustrating struggles – it ended on a good note.

Tomorrow can only get better!  🙂

*Picture found on Google Images*

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

