Why blog?

Standard

Recently I stumbled across another pre-k teachers blog.   Perhaps you may have come across it too, it’s called Elbows, Knees, Dreams.  In the course of a week, I read every single post.  I was hooked.  I had never come across a teacher who, at times, seemed to be reading my mind so completely.  It was amazing!  We work and live in two totally different worlds – yet have so much in common – the world of pre-kindergarten!

Still, why should I blog?  At the end of that week of reading, I mentioned to one of my best friends that I’d found a blog I LOVED!  His simple reply, “You should start a blog.”  I could not comprehend his statement!  Me?  Blog?  Why would I do that?!  I thought he was crazy!  But he insisted.  “You like to write – and you always have a lot to say.  You need to start a blog.”  It was simple.  I took a couple days to ponder his suggestion.

And so here I am…

About deepbluetide

I am a pre-kindergarten teacher at a private christian school. I work mornings with 4 year olds (most of whom enter my class in July still being 3 - they're babies!) and then in the afternoon work "daycare" - which is basically my own class combined with 5 year old children. One things for sure - it's never dull! I had no idea growing up I would be teaching pre-k today! It took me totally off guard - but in the end I wouldn't change a thing! I have worked with children whose age range is 6 weeks through 12 years. In the end I have decided that my current age group is my favorite! And in case you were wondering - all names mentioned are changed to protect the identities of those involved. Enjoy!

3 responses »

    • you’re very welcome! i do love reading your blog! i took your idea for labeling the bookshelf with the title of the book that goes in that spot – and it works great! at first the children were very confused! for the first few days i took groups over and modeled how we can tell where each book goes. now most can do it on their own – and the ones that can’t ask the other kids to help them! thank you so much for the idea! as someone whose only been teaching for about 7 years – i always welcome great ideas that cost little to nothing – and this was perfect!

  1. Well, I’m glad your friend encouraged you! And I’m glad you are blogging! I’ve been toying with it since the end of last year in another format, but only really put some effort into it since May of this year … new job, fresh start and all. Aaaanyway, I now see there are quite a few of us and I hope that we all keep it up, encourage one another, learn from each other, and do some seriously interesting global networking!

Leave a Reply

